

Pine Bluff, AR First Vice-President-Elect Mark C. Weissler, MD, FACS Chapel Hill, NC

Charles D. Mabry, MD, FACS

Second Vice-President
Basil A. Pruitt, Jr., MD, FACS, FCCM, MCCM
San Antonio, TX

Second Vice-President-Elect Philip R. Caropreso, MD, FACS Keokuk, IA

Secretary
Edward E. Cornwell III, MD, FACS, FCCM
Washington, DC

Treasurer William G. Cioffi, Jr., MD, FACS Providence, RI

Executive Director David B. Hoyt, MD, FACS Chicago, IL

Gay L. Vincent, CPA Chicago, IL

## **BOARD OF REGENTS**

Leigh A. Neumayer, MD, FACS Vice-Chair Marshall Z. Schwartz, MD, FACS Bryn Mawr, PA Anthony Atala, MD, FACS Winston-Salem, NC John L. D. Atkinson, MD, FACS Rochester MN James C. Denneny III, MD, FACS Alexandria VA Margaret M. Dunn, MD, FACS Fairborn, OH Timothy J. Eberlein, MD, FACS Saint Louis, MO James K. Elsey, MD, FACS Atlanta, GA

Los Angeles, CA Gerald M. Fried, MD, FACS, FRCSC Montreal, QC James W. Gigantelli, MD, FACS Omaha, NE B.J. Hancock, MD, FACS, FRCSC

Henri R. Ford, MD, FACS

Winnipeg, MB Enrique Hernandez, MD, FACS Philadelphia, PA Lenworth M. Jacobs, Jr., MD, FACS

Hartford, CT L. Scott Levin, MD, FACS Philadelphia, PA

Fabrizio Michelassi, MD, FACS New York, NY

Linda G. Phillips, MD, FACS Galveston, TX

Anton N. Sidawy, MD, FACS Washington, DC

Beth H. Sutton, MD, FACS Wichita Falls, TX Gary L. Timmerman, MD, FACS

Sioux Falls, SD Steven D. Wexner, MD, FACS

Weston, FL Douglas E. Wood, MD, FACS Seattle, WA

Michael J. Zinner, MD, FACS Miami, FL

## **BOARD OF GOVERNORS**

Chair
Diana L. Farmer, MD, FACS
Sacramento, CA
Vice-Chair
Steven C. Stain, MD, FACS
Albany, NY
Secretary
Daniel L. Dent, MD, FACS

San Antonio, TX



Chicago Headquarters

633 N. Saint Clair Street Chicago, IL 60611-3211

Voice: 312-202-5000 Fax: 312-202-5001 E-mail: postmaster@facs.org

**Washington Office** 

20 F Street, NW Suite 1000 Washington, DC 20001

Voice: 202-337-2701 Fax: 202-337-4271 E-mail: ahp@facs.org

facs.org

June 5, 2018

The Honorable Jason Smith 1118 Longworth House Office Building Washington, DC 20151

The Honorable Cathy McMorris Rodgers 1314 Longworth House Office Building Washington, DC 20151 The Honorable Earl Blumenauer 1111 Longworth House Office Building Washington, DC 20151

The Honorable Tony Cardenas 1510 Longworth House Office Building Washington, DC 20151

Dear Representative Smith, Blumenauer, McMorris Rodgers, and Cardenas:

On behalf of the more than 80,000 members of the American College of Surgeons (ACS), I would like to express our concern and opposition for the Dialysis PATIENTS Demonstration Act (H.R. 4143/S.2065). ACS understands the need to improve care coordination while promoting value-based care for patients with End Stage Renal Disease (ESRD). However, we believe this legislation has unintended consequences and fundamental risks associated with it. These risks include:

- **Restricting patient choice** by automatically enrolling patients in the model and not permitting changes, regardless of their care experience, for one year.
- Exacerbating existing silos of care by excluding patients with earlier kidney diseases and missing critical opportunities to slow or prevent progression to kidney failure as well as improve patients' lives and avoid more costly care.
- Excluding transplanted patients from the model by not including a transplantation therapy option, which for most patients improves health outcomes and lowers overall costs.

For patients with ESRD who are healthy enough to receive a transplant, doing so can be one of the best treatment options. Kidney transplantation has also been widely demonstrated to be the most cost-effective, long-term treatment for patients with ESRD. However, if implemented, the Dialysis PATIENTS Demonstration Act could create incentives that could sharply curtail the access to this potentially life-saving treatment option for Medicare beneficiaries with ESRD. It is for this reason, that ACS must oppose the Dialysis PATIENTS Demonstration Act in its current form.

If you have any questions, please feel free to contact Mark Lukaszewski at mlukaszewski@facs.org or 202-256-8104.

Sincerely,

David B. Hyt

David B. Hoyt, MD, FACS Executive Director